The Eisenhorn trilogy by Dan Abnett is a collection of three novels – Xenos, Malleus, and Hereticus – featuring Inquisitor Gregor Eisenhorn. A later omnibus. Eisenhorn is a series of novels and short stories by Dan Abnett, following the adventures of Inquisitor Gregor Eisenhorn. It originally debuted in alongside. Dan Abnett has been writing comics and novels since the mids. In comics he has worked Ravenor: The Omnibus (Eisenhorn trilogy spinoff series, omnibus, pages, August , ISBN ). Ravenor (hardcover,

Author: Shamuro Vudogor
Country: Tunisia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Relationship
Published (Last): 25 August 2008
Pages: 340
PDF File Size: 16.27 Mb
ePub File Size: 1.99 Mb
ISBN: 730-5-13550-740-1
Downloads: 87701
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Mausho

In my mind, they have the real voices of grimdark, and anything else is a let down. More than just a space adventure, it is similar to “the name of the Rose”, but in s There are many good books in the world of science fiction. It also has to be noted that Warhammer novels have eieenhorn reputation for… badness.

Eisenhorn : Dan Abnett :

There eisnhorn stories of Inquisitors in-universe secret agents that have ultimate authority over pretty much everything wiping out entire sectors of planets no time to evacuate them, so dozens of billions killed just to deter their enemy from heading that way because their enemy wanted the biomass of the people living there.

Or maybe the whole of Imperium’s highest ranking leaders, both sacral and secular, in gathering?

Abnett, in the Introduction to the omnibus of the series, also included other details, including the roles played by John Blanche and Inquisitor developer, Gav Thorpe:. They love them some grittiness! Mar 05, Ken rated it really liked it Shelves: Aug 04, Andrew Bass rated it it was amazing. Recently though I took another look at the concept and was blown away.

Dan Abnett bibliography

I’m full of so many conflicted emotions at this moment, and in many ways, that’s the mark of a great work of fiction. Description The Inquisition moves amongst mankind like an avenging shadow, striking down daemons, aliens and heretics alike with uncompromising ruthlessness.


It is just a great story that unfolds it’s characters and information without any expectation of prior knowledge, unlike some other 40K I have subsequently read. This is another entertaining short story, one with a little less action but more than makes up for it with its eeriness.

The fact that one cares and fears about the characters sliding toward radicalism in their behaviours speaking highly of his excellent writing. I never was one much for what you might call police procedural type books.

By the third, I was forcing myself to finish up and not throw it in the bin. And Eisenhorn is at some points almost unstoppable, but at other points makes serious mistakes that cost him. His dogged approach to the job pushes him out of his puritanical ways as he must ‘know thy enemy’ in order to be able to fight it. The series is predominantly written in the first person, resulting in an unreliable narrator: I knew almost nothing about the Warhammer 40k world, so there was a large learning curve.

The one page introduction of the universe at the beginning of the book will suffice as all the knowledge you need to tear into this one. Eisenhorn is a pretty cool character too, and we get to know him intimately over the course of the stories in the omnibus because Abnett makes Eisenhorn a first person narrator in all the stories in the book.

Planning ahead, investigating, researching, and so on.

It never seems to bog down unnecessarily, and when Eisenhorn, an Inquisitor in the Holy Orders of the Emperor’s Inquisition, decides to stick around somewhere as he does on numerous occasionshe’s always busy doing something. So as a word of warning, don’t get too attached to Eisenhorn’s crew. abnetg

Eisenhorn (Series)

First the story begins ninety eight years after the events of Xenoswhich is a pretty big time jump and somewhere in the middle one of the crew members have died but not much is said of that particular event.


Eisenhorn and Bauer are alike in that they have both given their lives to serve a greater purpose, which is to protect the lives and stability of those around them.

Sometimes things happen while the team is traveling. Retrieved 12 September The story again is wonderfully written and tells the horrors of war and the lasting effects it can have on you. With this particular bad guy dead, Gregor dreams abneth something other than him for the first time in six years. The Actual Review Well, that was a long spiel of background. Warhammer 40, 1 eidenhorn 10 abentt books. Includes all three novels, plus two linking short stories, “Backcloth for a Crown Additional” and “The Curiosity”, in one must-have package.

Sadly, we don’t get to see much of Ravenor at least not nowbut all the other characters we see develop somewhat over time, in particular Eisenhorn. At the same time, I am deeply grateful to the author for reminding every now and then how some of the characters relate to Eisenhorn, where his exploits have taken place earlier, what were their outcomes and how certain aspects of, let’s say, the second novel connect to adjoining events and some other aspects of the same, previous or following events within the 1st or the 3rd novels.

All three books contained and the two short stories were a first person narrative of Eisenhorn, a inquisitor who searchers for influences of Chaos though the galaxy.

The cover of Malleus from its initial release. They always choose brilliant narrators, and Toby Longworth does a brilliant job.

This page was last edited on 1 Novemberat